Last checked: October 2026
Safari lodges at Victoria Falls: prices and what's included
9 places of this kind in one table
Compare the 9 placesOn this page
Victoria Falls lodges side by side
The table lists the places near the falls whose own site or listing calls them a lodge. Some are town guest lodges rather than safari camps: Safari.com describes Batonka as an urban boutique guest lodge, not a safari camp3.
| Place to stay | Kind | Price from | What's included | Good for | Website |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Premier Guest Lodge Aerodrome suburb, Victoria Falls town | Lodge | – |
|
| |
| Pioneers Mahogany Road, quiet residential suburb of Victoria Falls town | Lodge | US$195per person sharing, half board (2026, Safari.com); Viatu lists from €147 per person (no year given) |
|
| |
| Victoria Falls Backpackers Lodge Gibson Road, Victoria Falls town | Lodge | US$10a night (no year given) |
|
| |
| Ravine Lodge Central Livingstone, Mosi-oa-Tunya Road | Lodge | – |
|
| |
| The David Livingstone Safari Lodge & Spa Banks of the Zambezi River, Mosi-oa-Tunya National Park | Lodge | – |
|
| |
| The Nkhosi Livingstone Lodge and Spa Mukuni Village | Lodge | USD224(Trip.com average; no dates given) |
|
| |
| Sikalongo Lodge John Hunt Way, central Livingstone | Lodge | – |
|
| – |
| Golden Days Lodge Livingstone town, behind the Livingstone Museum | Lodge | K500–1,500 (Livingstone rates, undated) |
|
| |
| Batonka Guest Lodge Victoria Falls town suburbs | Lodge | US$196per person sharing (2026) |
|
|
Each place is here because a checked source backs it: its own site, its booking page or its map listing gives its kind, price or who it suits. Not ranked: most searched first. A dash means our sources don't say. Each value comes from the sources listed at the end of this page.
The lodges with game viewing on the doorstep sit outside town. Travel Butlers notes some 5-star lodges upriver in the Zambezi National Park4, and the sections below compare those lodge by lodge.
Want something cheaper? See where backpackers stay in Victoria Falls. Golden Days Lodge in Livingstone has apartments with a kitchenette5, which helps if you’re comparing self-catering stays in Victoria Falls. Hotels and every other kind of stay are in the where to stay details.
How much does a safari lodge at Victoria Falls cost?
A night at a safari lodge near Victoria Falls costs US$2881 to $1,1506 per person sharing, depending on the lodge, the season and how much the rate covers.
- Pioneers Town guest lodge, half board (Safari.com) from US$195
- Batonka Guest Lodge Town guest lodge, per person sharing US$196–US$230
- Victoria Falls Safari Lodge Bed and breakfast, Standard Room to Waterhole Facing Suite US$288–US$433
- The David Livingstone Safari Lodge & Spa Half board, Deluxe River View Room (Safari.com) US$325–US$360
- Matetsi Victoria Falls All-inclusive; low-season offer to usual rate (Safari.com) US$765–US$1,150
- The Elephant Camp Green to high season, twin sharing US$835–US$1,087
- Victoria Falls River Lodge Luxury Tented Suites, green to high season US$910–US$1,120
- Old Drift Lodge Mid to high season, twin sharing US$1,042–US$1,087
US dollars per person per night, sharing. Park fees and the Wild Horizons conservation levy are extra where stated.
The gap is mostly about what’s included. The cheaper lodges are bed and breakfast or half board. The dearer ones add meals, game activities and transfers (see the table under “Where the safari lodges sit”).
When rates change
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge’s Standard Room rate goes up halfway through the year:
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, Standard Room
Wild Horizons, which runs Old Drift Lodge, The Elephant Camp and The Wallow Lodge, splits the year into seasons:
- Green season: 11 January to 31 March and 1 November to 20 December7
- Mid-season: 1 April to 31 May8
- High season: 1 June to 31 October 2026 and 21 December 2026 to 10 January 20278
Matetsi’s lowest price is a low-season offer that Safari.com lists for 8 January to 31 March 20276.
Seeing the falls costs extra too. International day visitors pay US$589 (checked October 2026) at the main gate of the Victoria Falls Rainforest in Victoria Falls National Park, a fee raised in February 202610. More on Rainforest entry and viewpoints.
Where the safari lodges sit
The safari lodges split into two groups: lodges on the edge of town, and camps in the parks and concessions upstream or further out.
| Lodge | Where | Rooms | Included in the rate |
|---|---|---|---|
| Victoria Falls Safari Lodge | 3 km from the city centre; lounge looks over a waterhole | Standard Rooms and Waterhole Facing Suites | Breakfast; free shuttle to town and the Rainforest |
| Victoria Falls River Lodge | Zambezi National Park, upstream from the falls | 12 Luxury Tented Suites, 8 Malachite tents, 2 villas | All meals, two game activities, shared airport transfers |
| Old Drift Lodge | On the Zambezi in Zambezi National Park, 4.5–7 km from town | 10 double and 4 family canvas suites, air-conditioned | Game drives in Zambezi National Park |
| The Elephant Camp | Private concession in Victoria Falls National Park | Luxury tented camp | Not listed |
| The Wallow Lodge | 20-minute transfer from Victoria Falls | 16 canvas tented suites | Not listed |
| Matetsi Victoria Falls | 50,000-hectare private concession, about 45 minutes' drive | 2 camps of 9 suites, plus the River House villa | Meals, selected drinks, safari activities, boat cruise, falls tour |
| The David Livingstone Safari Lodge & Spa | Mosi-oa-Tunya National Park | 72 standard rooms, 6 inter-leading for families | Breakfast and dinner (half board) |
Victoria Falls Safari Collection (resort); Victoria Falls River Lodge (resort); Wild Horizons (operator); Wild Horizons (resort); Tourism Update (news); Expert Africa (tour company); Scott Dunn (booking agent); Safari.com (booking agent); The David Livingstone (resort); safari.co.za (booking agent)
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge is the closest to town, 3 km11 from the city centre, and its rate includes a free shuttle to town and the Rainforest1. Victoria Falls town, Zimbabwe is small: most places are no more than 3 km12 from the falls.
Lodges further out swap convenience for quiet. Adventure Life says staying about 20 minutes outside town largely removes the helicopter noise, and that most of the better properties outside town offer complimentary shuttles13 in.
The Boma at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
The Boma, a dinner and drum show on the Victoria Falls Safari Lodge estate, runs 7pm to 10pm11. Lodge guests can walk to it; everyone else can book The Boma dinner and drum show. Expect:
- a four-course meal11 with campfire soup and a braai (barbecue) buffet
- traditional dancing, drumming and storytelling11
- a mopane worm eating challenge11, if you’re brave
Can you do a safari from a Victoria Falls lodge?
Yes. Zambezi National Park is a five-minute drive14 from Victoria Falls town, and the lodges inside it build game viewing into the rate:
- Victoria Falls River Lodge: two game activities2, such as a morning or afternoon game drive.
- Old Drift Lodge: a luxury tented lodge on the banks of the Zambezi River with morning or afternoon game drives8; you can explore the park by road, by river or on foot15.
- Matetsi Victoria Falls: game drives, walking safaris, birdwatching, canoeing, boating and fishing6.
Staying at a town lodge? You can book a Zambezi National Park game drive with hotel pickup, or read the Zambezi National Park guide first.
Botswana is close as well: Victoria Falls is a few km from Botswana and Namibia16. Many visitors take a day trip to Chobe National Park in Botswana17, such as this Chobe day trip with lunch.
On the river, Tongabezi, which runs the Livingstone Island trips, says Devil’s Pool is usually open mid-August to late December18. Wild Horizons puts the start later, at mid-September19. If your dates fit, see the Livingstone Island and Devil’s Pool tour.
Who safari lodges suit, and who they don’t
Safari lodges here are set up for couples, groups and families with older children. Families with young children, tight budgets and anyone who wants to walk to the falls may find a better match elsewhere.
Couples and groups
- Couples: Victoria Falls River Lodge’s 8 Malachite luxury tents20 are pitched as a retreat for couples.
- Groups and extended families: the River Lodge’s villas are designed for multi-generational families, friends and smaller groups20.
- A private house: the Matetsi River House is exclusive use for up to 8 people in four bedrooms6.
Families: children’s ages
Age limits differ more than prices do, so check this table before anything else:
| Lodge | Children | Family rooms |
|---|---|---|
| Old Drift Lodge | Over 78 |
Family suites for up to 48 |
| The Elephant Camp | Over 77 |
Not stated |
| The Wallow Lodge | Over 721 |
None21 |
| Victoria Falls River Lodge | Malachite and Treehouse suites from 122 |
Villas for multi-generational families20 |
At Old Drift Lodge, which Wild Horizons calls family-friendly15, children aged 7 to 16 pay 50%8 of the adult sharing rate. At the River Lodge’s Malachite and Treehouse suites, children pay the full sharing adult rate2.
Less of a fit
- You want to stay right by the falls: The Victoria Falls Hotel calls itself one of the world’s classic five-star hotels22, overlooking the falls, with Classic Rooms from $66423.
- You’d rather not drive far: Matetsi is around a 45-minute drive24 from Victoria Falls.
- You’re on a tight budget: town guest lodges and backpackers’ places cost far less (see the table at the top).
Not staying at The Victoria Falls Hotel? You can still visit Stanley’s Terrace, but non-residents must pre-book with the Food & Beverage Coordinator25.
Booking rules: deposits, cancellations and check-in
Wild Horizons publishes deposit, payment and cancellation terms for its lodges on its specials page. For Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, only the check-out time is listed here:
| Rule | Wild Horizons lodges | Victoria Falls Safari Lodge |
|---|---|---|
| Deposit | 20% non-refundable26 |
Not stated |
| Booked within 60 days26 of arrival | Held provisionally for up to 7 days26 |
Not stated |
| Full payment | 30 days before travel26 |
Not stated |
| Cancelling up to 60 days26 out | 20% of the rate26 |
Not stated |
| Cancelling 59 to 46 days26 out | 50%26 |
Not stated |
| Check-in / check-out | 14:00 / 11:0026 |
Check-out 10:0027 |
How long to book for: Wild Horizons suggests three to four nights19 at Victoria Falls, and Travel Butlers advises at least a couple of nights28.
Questions people ask
What are the cheapest lodges in Victoria Falls for couples?
Town guest lodges cost least: Safari.com lists Pioneers from US$195 per person sharing on half board, and Batonka Guest Lodge is pitched at couples who want personal service and a garden setting.
Photos: Wikimedia Commons and Pexels. Authors and licences: image credits
Checked against 57 sources · last checked October 2026
- Victoria Falls Safari Collection (resort) · checked October 2026
- Victoria Falls River Lodge (resort) · checked October 2026
- Safari.com (booking agent) · checked October 2026
- Travel Butlers (tour company) · checked October 2026
- Golden Days Lodges (resort) · checked October 2026
- Safari.com (booking agent) · checked October 2026
- Wild Horizons (operator) · checked October 2026
- Wild Horizons (operator) · checked October 2026
- Tourism Update (news) · checked October 2026
- ATTA (news) · checked October 2026
- Victoria Falls Safari Collection (operator) · checked October 2026
- Wikivoyage · checked October 2026
- Adventure Life (tour company) · checked October 2026
- Wild Horizons (operator) · checked October 2026
- Wild Horizons (operator) · checked October 2026
- We Are Victoria Falls · checked October 2026
- Wild Horizons (operator) · checked October 2026
- devilspool.net (operator) · checked October 2026
- Wild Horizons (operator) · checked October 2026
- Victoria Falls River Lodge (resort) · checked October 2026
- Wild Horizons (operator) · checked October 2026
- The Victoria Falls Hotel (resort) · checked October 2026
- The Victoria Falls Hotel (resort) · checked October 2026
- Scott Dunn (booking agent) · checked October 2026
- The Victoria Falls Hotel (resort) · checked October 2026
- Wild Horizons (operator) · checked October 2026
- Victoria Falls Safari Collection (resort) · checked October 2026
- Travel Butlers (tour company) · checked October 2026
- Safari.com (booking agent) · checked October 2026
- Go2Africa (booking agent) · checked October 2026
- Safari.com (booking agent) · checked October 2026
- Expert Africa (tour company) · checked October 2026
- Tourism Update (news) · checked October 2026
- Wild Horizons (resort) · checked October 2026
- The David Livingstone (resort) · checked October 2026
- safari.co.za (booking agent) · checked October 2026
- VicFalls Premier Lodges (resort) · checked October 2026
- Hotels.com.au (booking agent) · checked October 2026
- Pioneers (resort) · checked October 2026
- viatu.com (booking agent) · checked October 2026
- Pioneers (resort) · checked October 2026
- Victoria Falls Backpackers (resort) · checked October 2026
- Victoria Falls Backpackers (resort) · checked October 2026
- Victoria Falls Backpackers (resort) · checked October 2026
- Ravine Lodge (resort) · checked October 2026
- Hotels.com.au (booking agent) · checked October 2026
- Ravine Lodge (resort) · checked October 2026
- safari.co.za (booking agent) · checked October 2026
- Nkhosi Livingstone (resort) · checked October 2026
- Trip.com (booking agent) · checked October 2026
- Nkhosi Livingstone (resort) · checked October 2026
- Trip.com (booking agent) · checked October 2026
- Hotels.com.au (booking agent) · checked October 2026
- Trip.com (booking agent) · checked October 2026
- Batonka Guest Lodge (resort) · checked October 2026
- Batonka Guest Lodge (resort) · checked October 2026
- Batonka Guest Lodge (resort) · checked October 2026
Page history · last changed 21 October 2026
- First written